Shock! Just happened!! Finally!!!

It is principally in the YouTube space where I find far too many video posts with headlines, no doubt designed to attract attention, created to tempt me to view. I ignore them. Even those that I am subscribed to, if they use these “Scientists shocked” headlines I will skip past and avoid watching.

Examples found in the past few days:

“It happened”. Or sometimes “It finally happened”. Unimaginative headlining. All things happen, or don’t. Why not state what has happened eg Euclid operational!

“Changes everything!” Really? My bank balance hasn’t changed! My weight is still higher than I prefer. The same politicians are still ruining our lives! Clearly what the headline intends to indicate is that new findings require previous assumptions to be amended. “Scientists”? Must be true then. Or do they really mean archeologists? “Terrifying!” Really? I really doubt that any historic event is now considered terrifying. We would only be in terror of an imminently dangerous event being announced.

Another “happened” but this one is “finally” as if it was unexpected or subject to continual postponement. Anyone who follows SpaceX developments will realise that the only surprise relating to this static fire test was how soon it occurred!

I really do not care how interested I am in a topic, if I see headlines of these types I shall skip the video and focus my time elsewhere.

Leave a comment